Expert webinar on modelling neurodevelopment

Starts in

March 21, 2022

Virtual

webinar event

 

Attendance:

Virtual

Date:

21 March | 2022

Time:

13:00 GMT | 14:00 CET | 09:00 EDT | 06:00 PDT

Registration:

Register here

Price:

Free

Modelling neurodevelopment | Investigating the impact of maternal immune activation on neurodevelopment using human stem cell models

 

Human induced pluripotent stem cell (hiPSC)-derived neurons are a must have tool for scientists working in research and drug discovery, they provide a physiologically relevant system to study neurological activity and disease. But it’s consistency, reliability and scalability that is lacking in commonly used hiPSC reprogramming methods.

A new class of cells have been developed using a next-generation reprogramming technology, opti-oxTM. opti-ox enables the deterministic induction of a new cell identity from hiPSCs, consistently, on a vast scale; resulting in mature, functional hiPSC-derived cells within days.

Join King's College London’s Dr Deepak Srivastava for this webinar which will showcase how this new class of reprogrammed cell enables researchers to study the development of the brain, as well as the origins of neurodevelopmental and psychiatric disorders in detail. With a focus on how hiPSC-derived cells have been used to study the influence of cytokines on neurodevelopment.

Key Learning Objectives:

  • Various methods used to generate neuronal cultures from hiPSCs
  • How next-generation reprogramming technology can overcome the bottlenecks of traditional methods of cell generation to generate consistent, mature, functional glutamatergic neurons.
  • The impact of interferon gamma on the neurodevelopment of glutamatergic neurons.
Who Should Attend:

  • Researchers and scientists studying neurodevelopment
  • Those wanting to learn more about how hiPSC-derived cells are used within neuroscience research

Presenters:

  • Dr. Deepak Srivastava
    Reader in Molecular Neuroscience and Group Leader MRC Centre for Neurodevelopmental Disorders | King's College London 
    Director | Wohl Cellular Imaging Centre
Deepak has a PhD from the University of Cambridge and carried out his post-​doctoral training at Northwestern University in Chicago, USA. He moved his lab to the Institute of Psychiatry, Psychology and Neuroscience at King's College London in 2012.

The Srivastava Lab investigates synaptic biology in health and disease, focusing on the cellular and physiological aspects of disease with a translational focus. Utilising cutting-edge technologies such as patient-derived iPSCs and advanced cellular imaging approaches, their goal is to develop an in-depth understanding of the molecular mechanisms that underlie synaptic dysfunction in neurodevelopment, psychiatric and neurodegenerative diseases.